The Dewlap Zebra

We are going to try our hand at seeing the differences in the eight types of zebras that exist today.  That’s not as hard as you might think, because there only three species we actually need to key on; the rest are subspecies with very similar identifiable features.

The Mountain zebra is the second of the three zebras species we’ll study, so take a look at the first photo.
General: This zebra lives in small family groups, not large herds. Its ears are normal-sized compared to the Grevy’s Zebra. It’s stripes are broad and widely spaced at the flank. Let’s look at three simple IKs* and the corresponding photos:
1st IK: Broad pattern of stripes on flank are horizontal and change to vertical where the belly and flank meet. No underbelly stripes.
2nd IK: Dewlap on the throat.
3rd IK: Back stripes zig zag across the back and get smaller toward the tail.
These IKs will soon have you able to choose the Mountain zebra out of a whole herd! Stay tuned for my next post on the Plains zebra.
*On most of my blog posts, I will have photos showing the identifying characteristics of each animal. Each animal will have a general appearance description, and then some specific Identification Key, or IKs, as seen and described in the photos. (More about identification keys here.)

This entry was posted in Mammals, Species identification, Zebra and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s