The King!

The King of Beasts!   Most people can identify a male lion with no problem.

There are eight subspecies of lion, most of which live in Africa. A small number of Asiatic lions live in the Gir Forest in India.

There are also white lions living wild in Tambavati, though many zoos and circuses have them on display. White lions are not albino, but leucistic South Africa lions; their normal coat color is suppressed with the chinchilla gene, but their eyes are still gold-brown.

Lions are the only big cats that lives in groups, called prides. The pride can have up to forty members, most of which are females and cubs.

And that big lion mane? Lions are the only big cats where it is easy to tell the males from the females. And speaking of manes, let’s take a look at the different colors they can be:

This entry was posted in Big Cats, lion, Species identification and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s